"You are the richest man in the country, and you still want more?"
Minsan napatulala na lang ako sa mga points of view and lines of reasoning ni MeowMeow. For a young congressman, I was astounded and taken aback. A person of his age could think that way, compared to ordinary mortals who often fall short and are reluctant to express their thoughts. He never fails to deliver that 1-2-3 punch - powerful rhetoric that aims to strike at the jugular.
Kiko Barzaga no doubt is a chip off an old block ... his father was Elpidio Barzaga, who also served as Congressman for Cavite's Fourth District. He was a prominent critic of ABS-CBN during the 2020 congressional hearings and voted to deny the network its new franchise.
He was fiery, scorching, and unrelenting in his diatribes and criticisms, and his efforts played a significant role in the legislative process that led to the non-renewal of the network's permit.
Kiko, on the same breath, bears a resemblance to his father in character and temperament. But unlike his father, he borders on being reckless and impulsive (he bites someone's head off and jumps someone's throat ... and acts/speaks on impulse without thinking of the repercussions and the rationality of his actions.
Telling Enrique Razon if he still wants more money despite being one of the richest men in the country is the height of disrespect. Nobody has dragged the Razon's name through filth except him. It is RECKLESS and IMPRUDENT.
Somebody even thought that was reckless imprudence, as he thought what he said was just harmless, innocent statements devoid of malice.
But he was careless, as if acting with impunity, thinking he would go scot-free and consequence-free despite his wanton disregard for potential backlash that might happen.
He did not even blink when he said that to the Enrique Razon... of all people. He was calmly unfazed, almost similar to PRRD, saying, "God is stupid" in a televised speech. Parang nagmamalaki pa.
Kiko Barzaga was oblivious of what was going on. He did not even have a clue what his statements were, and doesn't have any iota of understanding of the concept of DAMAGES, and even confused it with GREED.
Kiko has not realized that he has unintentionally HARMED, HURT, and INJURED the man ... he thought he was just playing around ... as he makes Congress his playground.
To Kiko, the 100 million worth of damages was made not because the Razons want to milk him dry. Nor they want his money to make themselves rich. Si Kiko na rin ang nagsabi na mayaman na sila. So they do not need his money ... dahil umaapaw na ang kanilang kaban.
So it will be clear to Kiko ... damages are awarded to set an example (exemplary damages) or are meant to punish misconduct and deter others from doing similar actions (punitive damages) or punish egregious behavior, and dissuade the defendant and others from repeating it (corrective damages).
Moral damages, on the other hand, are monetary compensation awarded for non-material and intangible injuries, and that includes mental anguish, emotional suffering, wounded feelings, damaged reputation, social humiliation, fright, and anxiety, aiming to restore the person's balance and well-being.
Kung feeling ni Kiko nahuthutan siya ng milyones perish the thought. Hindi siya pinabayad para yayaman ang biktima niya. Hindi rin ito pampalubag loob or for appeasement. Far from that.
Hindi man lang siya nagiisip at putak lang siya ng putak ... at hindi man lang sumagi sa isip niya na may mga tao na siyang nasaktan. May punishment para diyan kung hindi pa siya aware.
At kung pinagbabayad man siya ...yon ay para matuto siya sa mga maling ginawa niya ... na sana'y hindi na niya ito uulitin.
Kung malaki ang 100 milyon sa kanya ... why don't he ask himself ...baka naman malaki, matindi at grabe talaga ang ginawa niya.
Lastly, the damages are awarded to remind him of his excesses na sana makapagbigay ito ng leksyon sa kanya... isang malungkot na alaala na minsa'y inabuso niya ang kanyang kapangyarihan at wala siyang keber kung may natapakan man siya or nasaktan.

